Approved JAK inhibitor baricitinib shows promise against cytokine storm in COVID-19 clinical study

A clinical study involving 601 patients in Italy and Spain suggests that the JAK inhibitor drug baricitinib may enhance survival rates of patients with severe COVID-19, primarily by blunting the runaway immune inflammation known as “cytokine storm.” While the authors are careful to note that their study was not a fully randomized trial with a…

Details

Media alert: Anthony S. Fauci, M.D., to address American Heart Association Scientific Sessions 2020

DALLAS, Nov. 13, 2020 – Anthony S. Fauci, M.D., the top infectious disease expert in the U.S., will present at the American Heart Association’s Scientific Sessions 2020. His recorded remarks, titled, “COVID-19: Public Health and Scientific Challenges,” is a keynote presentation featured on Tuesday, November 17 at 10:30 a.m. Central Time/11:30 a.m. Eastern Time. The…

Details

Parasitic worms offer ‘the missing link’ on the dual nature of a key immune regulator

De’Broski Herbert has a philosophy that’s guided his career researching helminths, or parasitic worms, and their interaction with their hosts’ immune systems: “Follow the worm.” “The mantra of my lab since its inception has been that parasitic worms manipulate their hosts in very interesting ways to maintain their survival,” says Herbert, an associate professor of…

Details

Fish oil and vitamin D supplements not effective for preventing atrial fibrillation

Embargoed until 11:05 a.m. CT/12:05 p.m. ET, Friday, Nov. 13, 2020 DALLAS, Nov. 13, 2020 — Taking omega-3 fatty acids and vitamin D3 supplements does not neither increase nor decrease the risk of developing atrial fibrillation, according to late-breaking research presented today at the American Heart Association’s Scientific Sessions 2020. The virtual meeting is Friday,…

Details